A New Series

I mentioned last time that I had taken a little bit of a break to clear my mind and begin on a new path.  It was time for me to make a bit of a change and so I have begun work on a new Series entitled Sorrow.  I explained about it in my last post.  I took that time to take a workshop on fine art by Jennifer Hudson.  Her introduction was so liberating.  I suddenly had the permission to not have to be constantly creating.  The permission to take a break and take a fresh, different look at my art and the art of others.  And, most importantly, what was my voice and what did I want to say with my work?  Her advice in finding out who you were as an artist was to start out by deciding first who you weren’t.  What didn’t I like, what could I look at and say, “that is definitely not me.”  And then, to look at what I was drawn to and ask myself why.   Certain pieces of art and music take my breath away.  So I have been trying to pay more attention to that.  Also, what did I want my work to say?  With this series, I hope to be able to bring to life the various forms of anguish that some people experience in their lives and are somehow still able to endure.  I will always be fascinated by that kind of strength.  They are heroes to me and this series is for them.



As George Inness says in his book Writings and Reflections on Art & Philosophy…”We cannot be impressed by that which does not  touch us.”  i hope this touches.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s