Ladybird

…and you don’t know how to leave…
and you don’t know where to fly
and you don’t know what you feel
but you know it’s not satisfied…

Ladybird - Natalie Merchant

Ladybird – Natalie Merchant

To me, Natalie Merchant’s new song Ladybird is sort of dark and desperate, but also one of hope. The tale of someone who is no longer loved or no longer loves someone, and feels trapped. I tried to portray the sadness of this song with the darkness of my image, but I also wanted to depict hopefulness at the same time by showing that the bird has left her nest, getting ready to fly. Although she hasn’t flown away completely, it is a beginning, a start. The lost feathers are all the things that she has “got to lose.”

Natalie hasn’t put out an album of all original material since 2001, and I was so excited to listen to it after I heard this track on #mvyradio. Another elegant, so feminine song from her and her unmistakable voice hasn’t changed a bit. Thank you Natalie!

Listen here:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ta4rHfgxarI&feature=player_detailpage

 

3 thoughts on “Ladybird

    • Thom: Glad you enjoyed my blog and hope you do drop by again soon. I am getting ready to post my image of “Heavy Heart” by Jamestown Revival. Just started following your blog and I must say it is so interesting. I haven’t gotten far but enjoyed your post about Guitar Instrumentals. Have recently discovered Rodrigo y Gabriela. You probably know of them, but if by some strange chance you don’t, check them out, they can really set it on fire. Regards from Songs into Images.

Leave a Reply

